Spencer Lacrosse London

London's premiere lacrosse club for players of all abilities

League Result: Spencer 19 - 4 Penarth

Our awful start to the season is officially over after an excellent victory against Penarth, who we recently lost to in the flags knock-out competition. The scoreline tells the game story; We had the majority of the ball and converted many of the chances we made. It was great to see seven Spencer players on the score sheet with goals coming from all angles.

Penarth will be disappointed with their performance. They travelled from Wales with a decent sized squad and would of been confident of a win based on the flags result (Penarth won 14-11). However from the first face-off, Spencer ran harder, checked harder, made fewer errors and quicker opened up a confidence boosting lead.

We were helped by a stronger back line, especially with Mike Goodman making his presence felt both with stick and shoulder. A well deserved coach’s man-of-the-match went to the big man. The key difference today though from previous weeks was our attacking play, much better movement and ball control. Long may it continue.

Player’s man-of-the-match was Colin Rutter who ran all game and broke is scoring duck with four excellent goals, the first two in the first two minutes of the game. That set the trend for the rest of us to follow. Also a shout to Peter Sayia in attack who has assisted many goals this season and now has two of his own to treasure.

Goon of the week was easy – Toby Thompson played the game wearing pink nail varnish which he alleges was forced upon him by a girl. The fact that he’s been wearing it since Wednesday makes us all very concerned!

Finally thanks to referee Simon Peach and his young son who ran the game clock and penalty box.

Player’s Man of the Match = Colin Rutter
Coach’s vote = Mike Goodman
Goon of the week = Toby Thompson

Spencer were;
Colin Byrne, Alan Keeley, Rob Gooch, Mike Goodman, Will Walker (5 goals), Colin Rutter (4), Ant Broadhurst (2), Mike Bayern, Ross Hudson, Nick Flew, Mark Davies (4), Joe Bayern, Jason Byrne (1), Stephen Greszczyszyn, Peter Sayia (2), Andrew Mottershead, Toby Thompson (1)

Share this post: